The Sikh Way of Life

The Sikh way of life is in many ways both different and similar to the Abrahamic and Dharmic faiths. The Sikh’s daily life goes according to the Hukamnana and the Rehat Maryada.

The Hukamnan is the order of the day and is drawn randomly everyday from the holy book, the Shri Guru Granth Sahib Ji and details what a Sikh’s mission is that day.

The Rehat Maryada is the Sikh code of conduct. It is a very detailed document of what a Sikh’s daily routine should be. The day begins in the second “pehar” of the day. Hygiene is very important to a Sikh. After getting up a Sikh must shower, comb their hair and tie their turban. Once hygiene is completed, the morning prayers, the first command of “naam Japo” are completed. The morning prayers include “Jap (u) Ji”, “Jaap” and “Tav parsadsaviye”. Then a Sikh is to follow the second command “Kirat Karo” to earn an honest and hard earned living. He heads off to work and returns home to complete the evening prayer of “rehiras” and honour the guru’s third command “Vand Ke Shako”, to share what we earn. This comes in two forms. Sharing with your family and in the form of “Dawandh” to the poor and his community. Finally he does his prayer of “Sohila” and the Sikh goes to sleep. The Sikhs religion was created to serve and protect others.


Pehar – a measure of time about 3 hours long.

There are 8 pehars in a day – 4 in the morning and 4 in the afternoon.

Naam Japo – the first command for A Sikh to pray to God.

Jap (u) Ji – the base prayer for Sikhs

Jaap – one of the 3 morning prayers

Tav parasad saviye – one of the morning prayers

Kirat Karo – the second command for a Sikh to earn an honest living.

Rehiras – the Sikh’s evening prayer

Vand Ke Shako – the Sikhs third and final command to share what we earn with the poor, your family and the community.

Daswandh – a tenthof your earnings given to the poor

Sohila- the prayer before you go to sleep.